Diversity Flag

Scoil Mhuire were delighted to be selected to take part in the Yellow Flag Programme in September 2022. This is a wonderful programme which promotes inclusivity, celebrates diversity and challenges racism and discrimination in our school. We established our Diversity Committee in January 2023 of which we have great representation from our school community. The Diversity Committee consists of:

Yellow Flag Coordinator Treasa McAteer

Principal Fiona Hayden

HSCL Coordinator Adrienne Geraghty

Teacher representatives Sharon O’Connor, Tazeem Fitzgerald and Maire Dolan

Parent representatives Tom Stokes, Yao Liu and Mona Abumarzouq

Community representative Joanna Fitzsimons from Cultur

Elected pupil representatives: 3rd Class Patrick and Contessa, 4th Class Cory and Aala, 5th Class Lana, 6th Class Leila and Sophie. Thank you to past pupils Aaron and Taiwo who were committee members last year.

During the school year 2022/2023 we were exceptionally busy in Scoil Mhuire creating our Diversity Code and Diversity song. We are also very proud of our new Anti-Racism policy which was created by our committee and now fully adopted by our school. We look forward to events such as ‘Yellow Day for Diversity’, ‘Wear Red to show Racism the red card’ and ‘Intercultural Day’ to highlight our wonderful school spirit.